Women's IPL 2023Cricket

The rise of Women’s IPL 2023: history, teams, and future prospects

Everything about Women's IPL 2023

The Indian Premier League (IPL) has revolutionized cricket in India, transforming it into a glitzy and glamorous event that attracts millions of fans worldwide. However, for a long time, women’s cricket in India remained overshadowed and underrepresented. It was only in recent years that the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) decided to launch a women’s version of the IPL, known as the Women’s T20 Challenge. In this article, we will explore the rise of women’s IPL 2023, its history, teams, and future prospects.

History of Women’s IPL

The idea of a women’s IPL was first mooted after the 2017 Women’s Cricket World Cup. It took another year before the BCCI organized the first Women’s T20 Challenge in 2018, featuring three teams – Supernovas, Trailblazers, and Velocity – comprising the top players from India and other countries. It is only this year the tournament is getting replaced by a new franchise-based annual T20 tournament, with a new name Women’s Premier League or Women’s IPL 2023.

The inaugural tournament, held in Mumbai, was a modest success, with the Supernovas emerging as champions. However, the following year, the Women’s T20 Challenge expanded to four teams and featured more overseas players, including some of the top stars from Australia and England. The tournament was also broadcast live on television, and the matches attracted decent crowds and viewership. Women’s IPL 2023 also has same arrangements maybe more.

Also read ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2022

Teams in Women’s T20 Challenge

Until now, there are three teams that participate in the Women’s T20 Challenge, namely Supernovas, Trailblazers, and Velocity. Each team comprises a mix of Indian and foreign players, with a maximum of four overseas players allowed per team. The teams are led by some of the most accomplished players in women’s cricket, such as Harmanpreet Kaur, Smriti Mandhana, and Mithali Raj.

The format of the tournament is a round-robin league, followed by a final. In 2020, the tournament was held in the United Arab Emirates due to the COVID-19 pandemic, and the final was won by Trailblazers, led by Smriti Mandhana. And in 2021 was canceled due to pandemic. When league resumed in 2022, IPL Supernovas led by Harmanpreet Kaur won the cup.

Women’s IPL 2023

Women's IPL 2023

The full schedule, date, time, squads, team details, and more for the Women’s IPL 2023 have been released. Fans of women’s cricket can now plan their viewing schedule as the matches will begin on March 12, 2023, and run until April 2, 2023.

The tournament will feature a total of 5 teams, including 2 new franchises that will make their debut in the upcoming season. These teams will compete against each other in a round-robin format before moving on to the knockout stage, which will include the top four teams.

The squads for each team have been announced, with a mix of domestic and international players set to showcase their skills in the tournament. The teams have also appointed their respective captains, who will lead their side throughout the competition.

The Women’s IPL 2023 promises to be an exciting event for cricket fans worldwide, as it showcases the top talent in women’s cricket from around the world. Stay tuned for more updates and coverage on this upcoming tournament!

Must Read Virat Kohli’s Net Worth

Women’s IPL 2023 Teams

Gujarat Giants: Beth Mooney, Georgia Wareham, Annabel Sutherland, Deandra Dottin, Sushma Verma, Sneh Rana, Tanuja Kanwer, Ashleigh Gardner, Harleen Deol, Ashwani Kumari, Dayalan Hemalatha, Sophia Dunkley, Mansi Joshi, Monica Patel, Sabbineni Meghana, Parunika Sisodia, Shabnam Shakil, Hurley Gala.

Women's IPL 2023

Royal Challengers Bangalore Woman: Smriti Mandhana, Ellyse Perry, Renuka Singh, Heather Knight, Richa Ghosh, Megan Schutt, Dané Van Niekerk, Sophie Devine, Erin Burns, Kanika Ahuja, Preeti Bose, Komal Zanzad, Asha Shobana, Indrani Roy, Poonam Khemnar, Sahana Pawar, Shreyanka Patil. Disha Kasat.

Delhi Capital Woman: Marizanne Kapp, Jemimah Rodrigues, Shafali Verma, Meg Lanning, Alice Capsey, Shikha Pandey, Jess Jonassen, Laura Harris, Radha Yadav, Arundhati Reddy, Minnu Mani, Poonam Yadav, Sneha Deepthi, Taniyaa Bhatia, Titas Sadhu, Aparna Mondal, Tara Norris, Jasia Akhter.

UP Warriorz: Deepti Sharma, Sophie Ecclestone, Devika Vaidya, Tahlia Mcgrath, Shabnim Ismail, Grace Harris, Alyssa Healy, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Shweta Sehrawat, Anjali Sarvani, Kiran Navgire, Laxmi Yadav, Parshavi Chopra, S. Yashasri, Simran Shaikh, Lauren Bell.

Mumbai Indians Woman: Harmanpreet Kaur, Pooja Vastrakar, Natalie Sciver, Amelia Kerr, Amanjot Kaur, Hayley Matthews, Yastika Bhatia, Heather Graham, Isabelle Wong, Chloe Tryon, Priyanka Bala, Dhara Gujjar, Humairaa Kaazi, Jintimani Kalita, Saika Ishaque, Sonam Yadav, Neelam Bisht.

Women's IPL 2023

Future Prospects of Womens IPL

The Women’s T20 Challenge is still in its nascent stages, but the signs are encouraging. The BCCI has indicated that it plans to expand the tournament to more teams and venues, and also increase the number of matches. The board has also expressed its desire to launch a full-fledged women’s IPL in the near future, which would be a major milestone for women’s cricket in India.

The success of the Women’s T20 Challenge has also helped raise the profile of women’s cricket in India and attracted more young girls to take up the sport. Many of the players who have participated in the tournament have gone on to represent India in international cricket, and some have even become household names, such as Smriti Mandhana and Harmanpreet Kaur.

The women’s IPL 2023 has also attracted the attention of some of the biggest names in world cricket, such as former Australia captain Lisa Sthalekar, who has called for a separate window for the tournament. The rise of women’s cricket globally has also given a fillip to the women’s IPL, as more overseas players have shown interest in participating in the tournament.


The rise of women’s IPL 2023 is a heartening development for Indian cricket and women’s sport in general. The tournament has provided a platform for some of the most talented players in women’s cricket to showcase their skills and also inspired a new generation of young girls to take up the sport. With the BCCI showing its commitment to the tournament’s growth and development, the future prospects of women’s IPL are bright.

Related Articles to Women’s IPL 2023

best sports news 2023

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button